Coffee with Me

Elm Creek Quilt – Andrew’s Star in the Window February 8, 2010

Filed under: Crafts — Melissa @ 11:00 pm

I don’t remember when I started reading the Elm Creek Quilt books, but it must have been when Roy was deployed in 2003 and my mom was teaching me to quilt. My mom had been quilting for quite some time but I had not been interested up until that point. I do like to learn new things though and knowing how much she loved it, I decided to give it a try. During that time, my mom told me about the Elm Creek Books written by Jennifer Chiaverini. I read The Quilter’s Apprentice and was hooked.

In 2005 I came across Elm Creek Quilt Projects and just had to make one. It takes me a long time to decide on fabric but once I did, I sat down and sewed and sewed until the quilt top was done.

My mom has a quilting machine and she told me she’d do the top for me but it took me quite some time to mail it to her. Then I got busy having 2 more babies and told her I wouldn’t finish it anytime soon as I’d put the sewing machine away for awhile.

When she was here visiting last August, she sewed the binding on for me, and yet at that point, the quilt still sat in my closet, unfinished.

After completing my tablecloth and chair covers I knew I needed to finish the quilt. I had pulled it out a few times to show friends what the colors were that I was working with, but still had yet to sew the binding down. One day my friend Shannan was over and she really prompted me to work on the binding while we chatted. Within a couple days I was done with it. What took me so long??

I love it so much and I’m so glad it’s done and on the couch in the living room. It’s nice and big and so warm. I realized after looking at the Elm Creek Quilt website that I’m really behind on the books! Paperback Swap here I come!



And since I finished that project, it is time to move on to the next! I’m really trying to make our living room/dining room more HOME for us, instead of just a place that our stuff resides. I bought more of the same fabric to make another tablecloth – just in reverse – plus I’m going to use more of the red as curtains for the dining room. Then I bought this fabulous stripe to go in the living room. I hope to share the finished project with you soon!



I’m linking up with Toot Your Horn Tuesday at Silly Little Sparrow and also with DIY Day at A Soft Place. Go check out other great projects!!

 

13 Responses to “Elm Creek Quilt – Andrew’s Star in the Window”

  1. Melinda Says:

    Very awesome! I have a friend that quilts, it just looks so involved…

  2. mom Says:

    So glad that you finally finished your quilt! Looks awesome! It is always such a nice sense of accomplishment to actually finish one! I still feel that way with everyone that I finish!

  3. Sharon Says:

    It looks great. So glad you finished it. Do you think you will do more quilts?

    • Melissa Says:

      LOL I have another quilt in the garage that is in 12 squares. I haven’t even sewn them together yet! I do think I’ll quilt more, I definitely enjoy the process. I just don’t make sewing a priority usually. 🙂

  4. Kelly Says:

    I LOVE those colors. Great job on the quilt! I’m gonna learn to sew and quilt…someday…

  5. I love the colors you have chosen. AND your picture of Roy and You at the top is GREAT! Ü Can’t wait to see what you do in the Dining Room. (going to try to beat you to PBS… since I’ve read the 1st book you mentioned… YEARS ago). But I still remember it… so it must have been a goodie. LOL

    • Melissa Says:

      I think I need to start back at the first book and work my way through them again. I had no idea there were so many now. I think I only read 6 or so. Going to check the library first I think. Or rather Roy will check for me. 🙂

  6. Cari Says:

    Beautiful quilt Melissa! We’ve been missing you at HK too. Love your blog.

  7. heidi Says:

    I love that striped fabric, it is all gonna be so beautiful!!!

  8. Anna Says:

    Your quilt looks great. Quilting is one of those things that I’ve always wanted to try, but never quite made the commitment to start.
    I’ve read quite a few of the Elm Creek Quilt books, too. They are very good.

  9. Mandy Says:

    It’s beautiful! LOVE it!


Leave a comment