Coffee with Me

Peanut Butter Cake – Smitten Kitchen September 10, 2008

Filed under: Cooking — Melissa @ 9:59 am

Remember this yumminess???? I am telling you. This is the BEST. The BEST. Cake I have ever had. EVER. In my life. Seriously. Make time to make it. Today would be good.

This is a Triple Chocolate Cake with peanut butter filling with a chocolate topping. Look at that chocolate just oozing over the sides! I got this recipe from Smitten Kitchen. Check it out! Her pictures are wonderful and as soon as I saw her post about it I just knew I had to have it!

I showed it to Samantha who declared that she must have it for her birthday. At their age, they love making their own cakes! As a side benefit to myself, her birthday is 2 days after mine and we usually share a cake. So I didn’t make any of this! Or do the clean up! LOL

Here are the oldest girls getting ready to bake the cakes!

Sifting Sifting

Added liquid

Putting them in the oven. Now here I must point out that the parchment paper is sticking up. I was not home at this point and I think they misunderstood the directions. The parchment paper should just be a circle on the bottom of the pan. 🙂

And out of the oven…hmmm…I’m salivating here.

Notice the dimpliness of the cakes on the sides? LOL That would be from the parchment paper. That’s okay. They know for NEXT TIME!!! And one of those big indents..that would be the 2-year-olds fault. She loved it. Here they are in the freezer. Makes it easier to spread the frosting! (Thanks Deb!)

Make the cream cheese peanut butter frosting and start layering! Cover the first cake, add the second cake, cover the second cake, add the third cake, and then cover the whole thing – top and sides.

Now make the topping. Roy used a double boiler and whisked away.

Pouring it on top.

Spreading it out….. hmmm….

Oh. My. Gracious. Must make again soon!!

 

16 Responses to “Peanut Butter Cake – Smitten Kitchen”

  1. rachelchris Says:

    oh.my. 10 months til my next birthday

  2. dangitAnge Says:

    Oooh baby. If I come visit will you make it for me?? 😀

  3. Heidi Says:

    That looks sooooo good, and the kids did such a great jog. I may have to make that for me and hubby for a date night, ashlyn allergic so she’d have to miss out on that one. Thanks for sharing

  4. MAry Says:

    how many points for a piece?

  5. mamabeck Says:

    Be still my heart.

  6. thejacobsfamilyhomeschool Says:

    1,000,000 points, Mary. Worth every. last. drop. I’m so on it. I’m making it TO. DAY. 😉

  7. Amrita Says:

    that cake looks super-gorgeous! I am literally drooling here.

  8. This looks so good, I am drooling! Big question, we have a severe peanut allergy at our house, do you think it would be good with almond butter too? I’m seriously so jealous over the peanut butter right now!

  9. Mandy Says:

    OH MY!! I’d gain back the 16lbs I’ve lost so far! Looks SO good!

  10. Penny and Buck Says:

    oh. my. goodness. must try! thanks for sharing!

  11. […] enjoyed Smitten Kitchen for a while now. Her recipes all look so yummy! Recently she posted the Peanut Butter Chocolate Cake that I made and posted about […]

  12. Dawn Says:

    Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh

    That cake looks amazing (and complicated)! LOL

  13. […] Well, it is.  The best cake to ever be made.  Yum.  Fabulous.  I got the recipe from my friend, Melissa. Yum.  I want to make it again but will probably wait until I lose 20 lbs.  I know that […]

  14. thejacobsfamilyhomeschool Says:

    Best. Cake. Ever.

  15. I just printed off the recipe. Looks YUMMY!!! My birthday is in April… maybe we’ll make a cake for Jesus in December… or we’ll call it a Thanksgiving Cake. November… YUM! I can’t wait. Ü


Leave a comment