Coffee with Me

Military Homecomings – Part 4 February 18, 2010

Filed under: Base Living and 29 Palms,Family,Roy's Deployment — Melissa @ 3:00 pm

This post is the final in a 4 part series about Roy’s homecoming last September. Part 1. Part 2. Part 3.

When we had gone down the field, the buses had just arrived on base. However, the Marines still have weapons to turn in and any last word to be given needs to be passed.

While were waiting on the field, I kept hearing other family members on the phone with their Marine. Talking about how the Marines were on the buses. They were coming soon. And then we’d all rush to the white line. And then nothing. I won’t get into the details as to why there were delays…there just were.  And it was awful. The kids were getting grumpy. It was cold. Leah was clinging to me and wouldn’t go back to sleep in the stroller. I felt awful that my friend had been up all night.

I had reached a point where I didn’t want Roy to come home right then. All I wanted was my bed. Sleep. Maybe we could try again the next day?

Yes. Well. It doesn’t work that way. I’m thinking all these things in my head. I’m picturing him getting off the bus and the kids fussing at him or not wanting to hug him or talk to him. I pictured myself grumping at him for being “late” when it wasn’t his fault!

I took a few moments and prayed. Just prayed for patience. And peace. And to be able to just focus on the moment.

Thankfully it wasn’t much longer after that and we heard that the buses were on their way.

We stood at the rope line and waited.

We heard the buses first….and then saw them. There were 10 buses. Which would he be on???

We waved and waved hoping that he would see us easily and be able to find us!! There were lights but it was still dark out and all those Marines look the same in their uniforms.

Thankfully he was on the bus right in front of us, and he spotted us as soon as he got off.

The first hugs are oh so sweet. No one wants to let go.

How I missed that smile.

Matt helps him collect his bags, and we head off for home.

We survived. The deployment AND the homecoming. 😉

 

6 Responses to “Military Homecomings – Part 4”

  1. Kiersten Says:

    I love these!

  2. Ally Says:

    Oh my word…what an awesome moment! Thanks for sharing!! And thanks for your sacrifice 🙂 Blessings. Ally

  3. prior Says:

    Great pictures and story. It is good you are writing it all down… Lezlee

  4. Mandy Says:

    Such a beautiful moment. Seeing you all reunited! So sweet! Thank you for sharing it!

  5. Cyndy Says:

    Cried through even one of these posts…. I’m such a mush!!! And I’ve even seen those pictures! Ha! I’m so glad that he is home again! Hey, btw, I find it very annoying that I have to put my email in everytime I want to post a comment to you…. it’s almost like a word verification… HA HA!!!!

  6. lana Says:

    thanks for sharing this melissa… it helps a non military person like me understand more of the sacrifices being made… not just the obvious ones we think about…. like him being gone…. but in much more details. .


Leave a Reply

