Coffee with Me

Military Homecomings – Part 3 February 17, 2010

Filed under: Base Living and 29 Palms,Family,Roy's Deployment — Melissa @ 1:00 am

This is a continuation of yesterday’s post.

I was joking about the vacation. Sort of. I actually did get to get away for a weekend. The weekend right before Roy came home. He came earlier than expected! Before leaving for the weekend (San Francisco for a cousin’s wedding) I got a lot done around the house. Made plans for the homecoming, had the sign done, etc.

For anyone anticipating a homecoming with a bunch of kids, I highly recommend the weekend away. I focused on ME for the weekend, and by the time I got home, I felt in a better frame of mind for the homecoming. I didn’t want Roy to come home and then have me check out mentally regarding the children. There isn’t an excuse for that, but it’s easy to think, “Well, I’ve been doing this by myself for the past 6 or 7 months, and now it’s your turn.” I didn’t WANT to really do that, and that weekend away really helped me a lot. (Thank you to the friends who watched my children for me!!!)

The day has arrived. He’s flying home today. I bought 2 new dresses. Which will I wear? We find out he’ll be home in the middle of the night. Do I get the kids up? Will my friend who is coming to take pictures still want to come? Does the house look good? I should clean the van. Change the sheets.

We made signs and hung them up. Samantha was a huge help. She really kept me focused! Here’s are a couple posts from another unit’s homecoming that explains how the signs are hung up here. Here and here and pictures here.

We hung up a sing on the front of the house that the kids made. Then we hung one that I had ordered up on the fenceline. I forgot to take pictures of it!!

We ended up leaving the house about 1:00am and met my friend Shannan down there (who was going to help with the kids and take pictures for me). The Marines were delayed and didn’t get to the reunion field until 5:00am. What a night!

Here are a few pictures of us waiting. It was September so it was still hot during the day (we’re in the desert) and usually was still in the 70’s or 80’s at night. But this particular night it really got chilly!

Other people sitting around waiting also.

The bounce house to help keep the children occupied.

The Marine Corps Community Services (MCCS) “roach coach” with free snacks and drinks.

The band that entertained us for a while.

Us watching the band, not cold yet!

Now we’re getting cold.

We waited on that field for over 4 hours. My nerves were shot and the kids were getting grouchy. Could we overcome that to have a happy reunion??

Final part tomorrow……..

 

3 Responses to “Military Homecomings – Part 3”

  1. Mandy Says:

    Yeah wow, that was some night! Can’t wait for the final installment! 😉

  2. Mari Says:

    Going away is a great idea! I’ve only done the homecomings as a Mom. Doing it as a spouse is a whole different situation.
    You had quite a night!


Leave a Reply

