Coffee with Me

My Notebook February 2, 2010

Filed under: Home Organization,Works for Me Wednesday — Melissa @ 8:40 pm

Listen carefully! This will be the best tip I ever give you. Seriously. It is the best. This is my lifesaver and timesaver! I learned about this from Annetta Bowman back in 2000 when we lived in Utah. She is a wonderful woman who we attended church with and she shared so much with me about being a mom and wife. And I will never, ever forget her just because of this one tip she gave me (plus she’s very faithful to send me a Christmas card each year).

It’s a notebook.

Yep, folks, that’s it. A notebook. I usually just use a simple one. I have used that same size/style for years. Once in a while I get a fancy one or something different, but mostly I just stick to something like that. I have gone through a lot of notebooks in the past 10 years.

So what is so special about a notebook. Ah. It’s not what it looks like. It’s what you do with it. I use my notebook for writing down everything. Anything that comes to mind that I need to do, I write it down. No dates. Not time limits. Just a list. One after the after. Anything that comes to mind. Because then it’s out of your head and it’s on paper and you will NOT forget to do it.

That page is dated because I date the first day. As I complete an item, I cross it off. If I get to where I have 3 or 4 pages of to-dos, I’ll cross off the one or two that are left on a page and add them to the end. When I finish a whole page, I put a check mark in the corner.

The reason I don’t tear my pages out is that sometimes I’ve made little notations regarding an item or I might need to look back to see if I’ve taken care of something and I can’t remember if I did or not. So I just keep the noteback intact and keep turning pages as I need them.

I also use the notebook to write down notes of anything else that is going on in my life.

For example, this next picture shows my notes regarding Matthew’s upcoming birthday party.

And this next picture shows a list I’m keeping for some upcoming Cub Scout events. When I’m done with these events I’ll just put a check mark in the corner.

And lastly I use my notebook for shopping/errands list. We’re going to CostCo this Saturday and I started making a list of items that I don’t want to forget to buy. I also put my WalMart list and Joann Fabric list on there. And if I think of anywhere we need to stop, then I’ll write that down also. I don’t skip around in my notebook. I just turn to the next page and start a new to-do list page or start a page for whatever else it is that I need to take notes.

I do my grocery shopping list on a regular piece of paper because 1. it’s long and 2. I use a clipboard. I should put my menu in this notebook though. Then I’d have a running record (and future ideas) of what we had for our meals. Great idea! I’m going to get right on that. 🙂

And for bloggers.  Start a page with ideas for blog posts.  Add to it as you think of new things.  Cross off the ones you actually write about.  You’ll always have fresh ideas from which to choose!  I can’t share a picture of mine.  It’s highly classified!

Thanks for letting me share for Works for Me Wednesday hosted at We Are That Family.

 

6 Responses to “My Notebook”

  1. Tawna Says:

    I love using the notebook – I just need to actually do it… Okay – I’ll start today. My goal will be to actually use it for a week. We’ll see how that goes. 🙂

  2. Mandy Says:

    I’ve been using Microsoft One Note for all my notebook needs. LOVE IT. No papers. No need to look for my notebook….I know it was just right here…who has my notebook? hahahahaha

    One Note has been great. I almost always have it open. I can write anywhere I click on the page. I create boxes and cross stuff off….start a new page. It’s great! I also use it to put things like html code I want to remember. I have a “notepage” for each child and what I plan for them for the next year of school. It took some getting used to but now I love it!

    • Heather Says:

      This is exactly what I do, but I always have a RED spiral, so no one steals it. It works perfectly. I staple my typed up address/phone list right in the front.

    • Melissa Says:

      That would be fun to use, but my notebook goes with me everywhere. I even try to remember to put it next to my bed at bed because I’m always waking up in the middle of the night and thinking of something to do or look up or .. etc. LOL

  3. Susan Says:

    I like this- just my speed.


Leave a Reply

