Coffee with Me

Coffee Time – 1/29 January 29, 2010

Filed under: Base Living and 29 Palms,Random — Melissa @ 1:00 am

Welcome to the Coffee Girls and everyone else! I’ve had so much fun this week with blogging. I had forgotten how much I enjoyed it. I’m glad to be back at it!

Just a quick recap of our week. On Monday we went to the Children’s Museum in Palm Desert for the morning. The kids had a great time with the other homeschoolers from our group. Afterwards my friend Tina and I took the kids to Sonic. Oh I love their limeades!! Then we headed to Joann Fabrics for some inspiration. I purchased fabric for a new tablecloth and chair covers and she got fabric to cover her living room pillows.

Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday were typical school days. Chores. School. Play. BLOG!

Today is Friday and I’m looking forward to the day so much! The kids and I will head to the park for our weekly homeschool group park day. And afterwards a few of the ladies and their children are coming back to our house for the afternoon. We’re having a Sewing Bee! Each lady is bringing her machine and a project and we’re going to spend some good time getting our projects done, drinking coffee, and talking. Oh the talking. I can’t wait! I’ll take pictures and share them with you!

I’ll share our projects too! I’m looking forward to getting the tablecloth done and my new chair covers put on the chairs. Hope you all have a great weekend. Our Cub Scout Pack’s Pinewood Derby is Saturday afternoon and my children are really looking forward to that. And then worship on Sunday. The best day of the week.

God Bless!

 

23 Responses to “Coffee Time – 1/29”

  1. Tawna Says:

    I love talking.

  2. Tawna Says:

    Oh and it sounds like you’ve had a mighty productive week! 🙂

  3. Melinda M Says:

    We just picked up our derby cars Tuesday. The boys will have fun!

  4. I’m glad you have realised you love blogging, it’s great to have some sort of creative outlet. I find it quite therapeutic. I love talking too! Have a great weekend.
    Jade

  5. Kaylene Says:

    I wish I could come to your sewing bee! I need the kind of motivation that only comes from other people working toward their goals along side of you.

  6. bashtree Says:

    Sewing bee! that sounds like so much fun! How do you make enough flat space for all the machines? Sounds like you’re off to a great weekend 🙂

    • Melissa Says:

      We only had 5 machines this time. So 3 sat on my dining room table and 2 sat on another folding table that I set up. We had 2 ironing boards set up in the kitchen. Plus I have a LONG countertop in the kitchen and we used that for cutting. Also, I swept and mopped real well so we could use the floor to lay things out. 😉

  7. Marie Says:

    I love Joannes! We don’t have a Joannes in Canada so I have to wait to go to the states to be able to see all the quilting fabrics…yes we have fabric stores here but none that really equal Joannes.
    Hope you have a great wknd!

  8. carikaufm Says:

    Wow! The Sewing Bee sounds like great fun! Have a wonderful weekend!

  9. Lea Culp Says:

    Enjoyed my first stop by your blog. I’ll be back!

  10. joyceandnorm Says:

    A sewing bee, how fun! I don’t sew, but I can imagine how great it would be chat with friends and finish up your projects. Looking forward to seeing some photos. Enjoy your weekend!

  11. Kim Says:

    Sounds like you had a great week. The sewing bee sounds great. I’m not a sewer but I’d love the chatting part. 🙂

    Praising Him,
    Kim

  12. Star Says:

    How fun, a sewing bee. Can I tell you how much I want to come hang out and sew? Sounds like a great week! have a great weekend!

  13. veronica lee Says:

    Hi! I’m visiting from MBC. Join us in our celebration of followers on Friday Follow!!

  14. Rooh Says:

    Sounds fun – I wish I could sit down and chat while finishing projects 🙂 I have three things that stop me from doing that during the day … a daughter, a son and another son. How do you manage to get some “me” time with your kids? I’m sure I’ll figure it out 😉

    Enjoy your weekend!

    • Melissa Says:

      Yes, the children usually interfere..or lovingly interrupt me…when I’m just getting into a project. Having others over gives them so much to do, so many other kids to play with, that I didn’t see them for hours. In fact when my youngest got up she didn’t even want her usual 10 minute snuggle! I kept saying hi to her and she’d grin and run off. LOL

      My youngest 2 nap and the older ones are busy with other things, but in the past I have had quiet time for an hour for everybody! And that was when I would sew or scrapbook. For one hour they had to stay on their beds, napping or reading. 🙂

  15. Anna Says:

    Sewing bee.. that’s what I need. I just told my husband that if I could do anything my dream would be to do costume design. All I can do so far are straight lines so there’s still a lot of learning to do. But getting ladies together would be a wonderful start. I hope you share your projects next Friday!

  16. LydiaCate Says:

    I love the sewing bee idea…What a great way to motivate each other and just have girl time! Love it! Can’t wait to see the pictures.
    Blessings
    LydiaCate

  17. The sewing bee sounds fun! I need to get my machine out. I have a bunch of material put away, and needs to be made into fun clothes. I also have some knitting and crocheting projects to finish.

  18. Rachel Anne Says:

    The sewing bee sounds like so much fun! I think I need to take a trip to Joannes for tablecloth fabric…..I’m always looking for tablecloths and never see what I want…maybe making one would insure that I’d like it. But then I’d have to wipe 10plus years of dust off my sewing machine. If I remember correctly, the last time I tried sewing I had trouble with the tension (thread balling up underneath) and I gave up. I’m sure that problem is still there, all these years later. sigh.

    Thanks for linking up!!

  19. Mrs Jen B Says:

    That sounds like such a great time! First I need to get my own machine – I made costumes in college so I do know how to sew – and then I need to find like-minded women
    to sew with. Because it really sounds like fun.

    Thank you so much for your kind words on my post on Friday – the encouragement is much needed at times, as much as I have trouble admitting that i need it.

  20. Genaro Kader Says:

    Hey, I just hopped over to your site via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would normally read, but I liked your thoughts none the less. Thanks for making something worth reading.


Leave a Reply

