Coffee with Me

Sam’s Readers – Bookshelves Part 2 January 28, 2010

Filed under: Homeschooling — Melissa @ 8:30 am

3GBXSAWUWRWS

Yesterday I shared you with my homeschool bookshelves. This is the first post in a series that will take you through each cubbie.

We’re going to start in the top middle. That’s Sam’s cubbie for her readers. These are books that she is allowed to read any time during the week. One thing I try to focus on with the children is giving them good literature to read. She has a lot of fun books that are in her room. She loves mysteries and has a lot of those. During the week, though, she is only allowed to read a history book or one of the readers on this shelf.



Some of the books are
Treasure Island
Secret Garden
The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
The Scarlet Letter
The Moffats
Heidi
Gulliver’s Travels
Anne of Green Gables
The Adventures of Robin Hood
Robinson Crusoe

Currently these books are not part of her literature curriculum. She has a separate curriculum for that. These books are just the ones that I want her to read to encourage her to read good literature.

 

11 Responses to “Sam’s Readers – Bookshelves Part 2”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Sam says:
    So far The Secret Garden and The Little Princess have been my favorites. I’m looking forward to reading The Scarlet Letter.

  2. Jeanne Says:

    Isn’t she a bit young for The Scarlet Letter? Or is it an easier version? I just read that and the language is really hard.

    • Melissa Says:

      It is. But I try to make sure the choices have some that are a little easier to read (like the Moffats), some that are right on her reading level, and some that are harder. I want her to be challenged in her reading abilities, so that as she moves into harder selections, it isn’t as difficult.

  3. Lisa Says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your thoughtful comments. I think I might have been more successful with my homeschooling had I started it from the beginning, easing into it. Instead I dove in head first. Some people can handle it, but, regretfully, I learned I had limitations. I work at my daughter’s charter school, so I am still very active in her education.

    Maybe if I had been as organized as you! Your shelves and everything look amazing! On a side note, I was a Marine Wife, too…

    • Melissa Says:

      Lisa, thanks for coming and sharing that!! I struggled the first year. Big time. It was hard to just commit to pressing on. I know it’s not for everyone though and I’m so glad you’ve found a solution that works for your family! Just wanted to share another perspective on it. 🙂

  4. Sharon Says:

    Fabulous choices! Little Princess has been read many times here. And Anne. And the Moffats and… well, my kiddos would love to have that shelf.

    So, how do you chose her literature and do you keep a record?

    • Melissa Says:

      Veritas Press selections usually. Sometimes that 1000 Great Classical list that is on the internet somewhere. LOL But this year I think it was mostly VP. I don’t keep track. 😉

  5. I’m always so impressed with people who homeschool. It must be so rewarding, it’s not so common here in the UK so I’m quite fascinated by it! There’s some great reads there from when I was a kid.
    Jade

  6. Kelly Says:

    Great choices! Jerald has read several of those many times. Having “fun” books for the weekends and good literature during the week is a great idea! I may do that with Rocklin and Magdalyn.

  7. Chili Pepper Says:

    We love to use literature to teach as much as possible in our schooling… you have some of our favorites here.

  8. […] this year. These books are kept on the top shelf, 2nd from the left, cubbie. As I talked about in a previous post Sam has a lot of literature choices in her days, but a wonderful curriculum is found in this small […]


Leave a Reply

