Coffee with Me

Homeschool Bookshelves January 26, 2010

Filed under: Home Organization,Homeschooling — Melissa @ 11:45 pm

I’m posting this for Works For Me Wednesday over at We Are That Family.

I love my Ikea bookshelf! We got this a few years ago initially to be in the girls bedroom. They used it for toys, clothes, books, and more. But after our move, the bedroom arrangements are different, and the girls have more space now. So we decided to use the bookshelf in our main room where we could store homeschool items at our fingertips.

I love having the books in separate cubbies, with labels, to make easier to find a book on a topic that we’re discussing. In future posts, I’m going to share more about the books in each section. The kids each have a cubbie with their specific books for their schooling.









I realize that each shelf isn’t full. It’s not like the other bookshelves in my house, that are crammed to overflowing. I wanted these shelves to be easily accessible. The kids know what each cubbie is for and it makes it a bit easier for even my youngest children to return resources to the shelves. This is what works for us!

 

16 Responses to “Homeschool Bookshelves”

  1. Nikki Says:

    I love your bookshelf! But what I love the most is the LABELS!! I never, EVER thought of labeling my bookshelves. That is so smart. I label my cupboards. I’ve labeled little shelves in my homeschool room. But not the bookshelves. Now I will. yippee!

    • Melissa Says:

      Nikkie, I love to label! But mostly what I have labeled are school supplies. I want to label everything! Oh I have the boys drawers labeled. Course they couldn’t read at the time and I should have used pictures. LOL

  2. I’m suffering from bookshelf envy right now! This is a great way to keep all your homeschool materials together.

  3. Tawna Says:

    We were going to get that bookshelf but decided on something else. We’re getting 4 smaller bookshelves and a tv stand and putting it as an entertainment center in the living room. I’m so excited!

    Anyway – I love your setup!

  4. I just love your bookshelf. I am struggling to find a way to “contain” all our homeschool supplies, and a shelf like yours with cubbies would be great. Looks like I need to go bookshelf shopping!

  5. Melinda Says:

    I love your set up! It gives me some great ideas as we have been doing this for three years now but we have nothing that actually looks anywhere near organized. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Penny Saver Says:

    We have an Expedit bookshelf, too. It holds SO MUCH STUFF! I found that the IPSO boxes from Target fit perfectly, and they’re cheaper than the baskets (although not as pretty!) They’re easy to put sticky labels on, so I’ve been able to put picture labels on my kids’ toys and make it easier to clean up.

    • Melissa Says:

      Honestly I’d rather have the boxes. The insides of the baskets are rough and everything catches on them. I love the way they look but they’re not that great to use! LOL

  7. Mari Says:

    Thanks for stopping at my blog. I love this bookshelf – looks perfect for homeschooling and all the things that go with it.
    My son is in the military also – he is in the army and is currently stationed at Fort Carson in Colorado.

  8. Dawn Says:

    I want that bookshelf. I have no place to put it but when we move, it’s a dealbreaker – MUST have a long wall for schoolbooks! 🙂

  9. dangitAnge Says:

    Hey! I have that same shelf in white in my HS room! 😀

  10. Honey Says:

    You have such a beautiful family.

    I really love your bookshelves.

    We have 4 large cabinets with closed doors in our living room because the twins (20 months) get into anything and everything that is not locked down. I like the idea of labeling the shelves. I know where everything is, but everyone else has to keep asking me where things belong.

    Thank you for visiting my website.

  11. Meghan Says:

    I love Ikea furniture. I often hear people saying bad things about the quality, but I personally haven’t found that to be true. I have lots of Ikea furniture and it looks great (in my opinion), was inexpensive, is very functional, and durable. It works for me too!

    • Melissa Says:

      I think some pieces aren’t that great. I have tried to find things that I could tell were more sturdy and better put together. I’m hoping to make a drive to the nearest one (about 2 hours) very soon!! I have some more plans for this space!


Leave a Reply

