Coffee with Me

Coffee Time January 22, 2010

Filed under: Base Living and 29 Palms,Family,Random — Melissa @ 6:00 am

I was browsing blogs one day and came across Home Sanctuary. I posted recently about the Small Things Challenges that I started doing. What I loved even more about her blog is that she does a Coffee Chat on Fridays.

I love to have coffees at my house. I had one just this week. The ladies from our fellowship group plus 2 more of my neighbors came over. We chatted, ate some snacks, monitored the kids, and most of all…drank coffee!!

It is important to me (and my family) to have “community” around us. A community of believers. It’s so encouraging to sit around the dining table and discuss issues that involve us as mothers, homeschoolers, and wives. We lift one another up. We encourage. We even admonish and exhort when needed.

I look forward to our coffee times. If I wasn’t homeschooling, I’d do them everyday! So when I saw that Rachel Anne had coffee time on Fridays for the Challenge ladies…well…I just had to jump right in.

If you’re a Coffee Chat lady, welcome to my blog. I hope you find something to enjoy reading! And leave a comment. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ll join you with a cup of java made from the Keurig maker my husband got me for our anniversary.

Not my kitchen (though I wish it was) and I’ll just have to blog about my Keurig another day. It deserves it’s own post!!!!

 

14 Responses to “Coffee Time”

  1. Tawna Jacobs Says:

    One day, I’ll have a Keurig, just like Melissa.

    Ha ha ha.

  2. Anna Says:

    We are a homeschooling family too! I’m taking off school this morning to have “coffee time” with everyone. Then we’ll catch up on school this afternoon. Isn’t flexibility one of the best benefits of homeschooling?

  3. Melissa Says:

    Hi there! Thanks for visiting my blog. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a good thing you mentioned here that the picture is not of your kitchen…I was going to be just a little bit envious!

    I’m all about coffee with the girls too. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love to fellowship and there’s nothing better than gathering together with a good cup.o.joe.

    You wanted to know the name of the movie in my post. I kept it out on purpose because I didn’t want to take away from the lesson God was teaching me. It was “Confessions of a Shopaholic.” That I remember, there was only one scene in the movie that was a little risky. It was a moment where they suggested two of the characters were up to something they shouldn’t be before marriage. But they didn’t show anything.
    Other than that, it was pretty clean. There were several times where I laughed my head off!

    Have a great weekend and thanks again for stopping by!
    -Melissa

  4. The ladies from our church have such a wide range of activities and cover a fairly wide area of town, so it’s rare more than 2 get together at a time during the week. I’m blessed to spend 2 hours with a friend while my son is at his weekly Spanish class near her home, but no-one visits me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ heeheee

    • Melissa Says:

      I felt that way back in VA. Distance, business. It just seemed hard to get together with people. Here we’re in a small town and a lot of us live on base within walking distance to each other. Much easier to get together.

  5. Kaylene Says:

    haha, I totally thought it was your kitchen. You should have kept it going.

    • Melissa Says:

      LOL I’ll post pictures of my kitchen. That picture reminded me of our kitchen back in Virginia so I just had to use it!

  6. carikaufm Says:

    I am not a big coffee drinker, but I love to have afternoon tea with little finger sandwiches and cookies and pretty cups. It is so wonderful to have a community to fellowship with!

  7. Marie Says:

    Whether you drink coffee or not, I think just getting together with friends and sharing, encouraging and listening to one another is just about the best thing ever!

  8. joyceandnorm Says:

    I totally agree with Marie. I love getting together with friends, especially now that it’s harder to get together because of location, scheduling, or whatnot. I cherish that time with friends. Thanks for stopping by my blog. The ice cream was definitely yummy! We frequent The Ice Creamery quite often. Have a wonderful weekend.

  9. Star Says:

    Welcome to Coffee Talk! So glad you decided to join us! This is one of my favorite times of the week. Although we are getting so many ladies now, it is hard to make it around to them all!

    I am not a coffee drinker, myself, but LOVE the fellowship. Especially as a home schooler because, I have found, it is easy to become quite isolated and it is such a treat to have some friends to “chat” with, even if it is virtual!

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  10. bashtree Says:

    Oooh your coffee time sounds wonderful! All my local friends are working, so coffee during the day isn’t feasible. Company Girl Coffee is not a bad substitute. I’m glad you’re here!

  11. Jackie Says:

    I moved to 29 Palms two months ago and I still haven’t made any friends. I spend all my day with my four month old. I’ll be moving to base housing Feb 4.
    Can someone please tell me what can I do, or where can i go, to make some friends?
    I’m starting to get very homesick.


Leave a Reply

