Coffee with Me

Blogging History January 22, 2010

Filed under: Random — Melissa @ 8:30 pm

While I was writing the post about Alex’s Birthday, I kept looking back at my old blogs to see what I had said about his previous birthdays. Other posts kept catching my eye. Then tonight I had to go see what my first blog post ever was and WHEN it was. I couldn’t even remember.

At the time a lot of homeschoolers were starting blogs at Homeschool Blogger. Several blogs that I follow (of friends) still blog there on their original blog. Like Dell, Kim, and Jeanne. Those 3 ladies are committed!

So I started a blog over there and my first post was not all that interesting. My second entry was slightly more interesting.

As I browse that first blog (that started in August 2005) the memories come flooding back of all that occurred in those months. I posted a lot about homeschooling. I turned 33. That sounds so young now. Ha ha. I was pregnant with my 5th child.

I’m one that likes change though. And I heard about Xanga. So I moved to blogging there at Roy’s Wife. I loved how I could easily change the look. I could share what I was reading or listening to with each post. It seemed so high tech. This was also during a time when I was doing a lot of digital scrapbooking.

My last blog on Xanga was Dec 6, 2007. I started this WordPress blog on July 6, 2008 with this first post. Why did I stop during that time? Because of a lot of life changes – putting our house on the market, my husband having an appendectomy, having our 6th child, moving from Virginia to California. After we got settled in, I realized how much I missed blogging and started again.

What was your first blog post? Can you link me to it?

 

24 Responses to “Blogging History”

  1. Sharon Says:

    It took me a few minutes to remember, lol. First posts on my blogging adventures….

    First here
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/TribeMommy/126159/

    Then
    http://lifeinthetribe.blogspot.com/2007/04/butterfly-days.html

    Finally
    http://www.burroughstribe.com/2008/08/22/breakfast-in-bed/

    I got a bit confused on the wordpress move but then remembered I moved my blogger posts over. It was a serious brain cramp.

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane.

  2. jennibell Says:

    http://jennisseasons.blogspot.com/2009/11/wow-im-blogger-now.html
    Thanks for encouraging me to go back to my first post. It wasn’t all that long ago (and you won’t like the format b/c it’s “skinny” — is that what you call it?) but it was fun for me to re-visit 🙂 I guess it’s just what I hoped it would turn out to be. . .a journal for me, so I could remember the “little” things in my life. . .in this case that beautiful fall day.
    Am now going to hop over to some of your first posts 🙂 Love Company Girl Coffee. . .and your blog is distinctive. . .very pretty.

    • Melissa Says:

      Jenni, I loved reading about how you chose the name for your blog. And I mostly don’t like “skinny” blogs because the pictures are so little!!! LOL

  3. Kim Says:

    Here’s my first blog post. I began just blogging about our rowing adventures with Five in a Row. http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/blessed2bamommy/21911/

    Too funny. Thanks for the trip down memory lane.

    Praising Him,
    Kim

  4. Kelly Says:

    Here’s my first post ever, at homeschool blogger…
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/mom2rebels/39942/

    I blogged there from 11/05 until 10/07, though I did pop in there once in ’08 mostly just to keep homeschool blogger from deleting the blog.

    Here’s my last post over there…
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/mom2rebels/418788/

    I started the blogger blog with this post in April 07…
    http://raisingrebels.blogspot.com/2007/04/yes-mom.html

    I started a wordpress blog a week or two ago, but can’t decide if I want to switch over to it or scrap it and stay at blogger. I’m also trying to figure out the easiest way to move my homeschool blogger posts over to this blog.
    Great idea to go down memory lane…I’ll have to carve out some more time later to read through some of your old posts.

    • Melissa Says:

      Kelly, you were pregnant when you started that blog! Crazy how much our lives have changed since then.

      And the burnt up van. Oh my. I teared up just thinking of that!

      Thanks for the reminder to be a Yes Mom. 🙂

      Oh and I read this article that says for regular bloggers blogspot is better. More free things to use. But that if you’re going to host your own and want to be able to really change things up then wordpress is the way to go.

      • Kelly Says:

        Yeah, I was pregnant with Parker…he will be 4 in May. Crazy!
        The van pics make me teary every time I see them…I still get goosebumps and am so thankful we weren’t driving somewhere when it happened.
        Thanks for the blog info. I’m “just” a regular blogger because of time, but I want to do my own thing and J is learning HTML…we are considering getting our own domain and everything and I’ll probably let him take over most of the work, tell him what I like and let him figure it out.

  5. Ashley Says:

    Thanks for visiting me! I think I’m going to be enjoying the “Coffee Girls” visits.

    I started blogging on Xanga when I was still in college… my Xanga blog has now become my “family update blog”. I now blog at AP Freewriting (have been there almost a year now), and it’s a place for me to let out the clutter in my brain. What a fun trip down memory lane!

  6. Anna Says:

    My first post was on the blog that I have now. It was right after Easter in April 2007. We had been visiting friends in Florida, and I posted pictures from our vacation.

    http://montanawegners.blogspot.com/2007/04/florida-vacation.html

  7. It sounds like you have a wonderful community of friends here! I wanted to thank you for your nice comment on my dressing room, it was such a long process but I’m so happy with it! Here’s my first post, which sort of makes me look like an alcoholic, but I really just like wine and I’m not afraid to say it! haha

    http://www.russetstreetreno.com/2009/08/first-post.html

  8. dawn Says:

    I’m a relatively new blogger, less than a year. Here is my first post–it’s about my blog title.

    http://dawnsgoodlife.blogspot.com/2009/05/so-i-live-good-life.html

    How cool you have been blogging a while. i didn’t even know what a blog was when you started. I’m a bit slow…but I’m catching on!

    thanks for visiting my blog–dawn

  9. mamabeck Says:

    I’m pretty sure I deleted my homeschoolblogger account, but before I did, I pulled all the posts from there to the “new” and current blog…and actually, I don’t think I got ALL of them transferred, but oh, well.

    Here’s the oldest one on the blog:
    http://mommabeck.blogspot.com/2006/09/and-now-for-change-of-location-please.html

    We’d just flown back to the US on emergency leave, when my mother-in-law became very sick and the doctors did not expect her to live. She did recover, and we made it back home safely.

  10. Mandy Says:

    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/Bakermama/248040/

    I started at Homeschool Blogger in 2006.

    I like Blogger because it is so cheap to have your own domain. If I ever become a Super Blogger then I’ll consider ditching the blogspot platform and change to WordPress.

    Right now my blog is small and only has a few viewers. I’m happy with the changes I can make to it and haven’t really found any limitations. Sometimes it takes me a while to learn how to fix something or adjust sizes/colors. But overall I’m very pleased. 😀

  11. Mandy Says:

    I also moved on to Xanga thinking it was so cool. I just went there to look around. Oh my the navigation is horrible! It took me forever to find my way around. Down with Xanga.

    I think I originally had my own website that served as a blog. It was a feature offered through verizon at the time. I backed up the posts and one day I’d like to post them with their original dates to blogger. Not that they were all that interesting…but I was such a completely different person back then. I like to see how much I’ve grown…erm…mentally anyway. :S

  12. Jeanne Says:

    Woohoo I got a mention! My blog is still the same because I haven’t liked any other blog site that I have tried. I just type what I want, put in the pictures that I want, and I’m done. There are some things I want to do to it, but I don’t know how, and I just don’t have the mental energy to figure it out. I’ve thought about hiring someone to do it for me, but haven’t yet.

    Here is my first post: http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/cathmom/189347/

    The twins were ten months old, and starting the blog was my grasp at sanity. Through the blog I kind of recovered myself and my interests. I named it Books and Brownies because they are my favorite things in the world! In the first post I shared my brownie recipe, but I have since found a better one – yum!

    I love that you are blogging again! And even though I don’t live at 29 Palms, I love reading about the base and all the things to do there. We miss you over here on the East Coast though!

    • Melissa Says:

      Have you posted your new recipe???? I need it!

      I’m so glad we can keep in touch through email and blogs and what not. 🙂

  13. NewlyParents Says:

    Hi Melissa! Thanks for checking out our blog! We’re glad you enjoy reading it. We’ve only had it up for about 3 months so we still remember our first post 🙂 I’m looking forward to the day years down the road when we can look back and see what was going on in life. That is if the baby leaves us with any energy to blog!!

  14. Kacie Says:

    I moved from Xanga to Blogger too! I miss the “reply” function on xanga that automatically notifies the person that you replied to them. Does your “reply” fuction automatically notify people? I miss the community of xanga, but I do enjoy the freedom and professional feel of blogger.

    • Melissa Says:

      Kacie, I think it does. Or maybe you had select it. Now you have to tell me if you get this.

      Sometimes people respond as “anonymous” and then I just email them back through my email comment response. But mostly I’ve been using the reply feature on here so that others can read the responses too.


Leave a Reply

