Coffee with Me

Blog Changes January 9, 2010

Filed under: Random — Melissa @ 7:19 pm

I have spent a lot of time this week looking at blogs, blog features, and trying to revamp my blog.  Who knew that changing the CSS on WordPress could be so time consuming??

I did decide I didn’t want my own webpage at this time.  I’m happy with letting WordPress host my blog and I’m comfortable with the features that are here.  Then I decided to pay the $15 to be able to change my style sheet to make changes to my blog.  I found one I liked from elsewhere and spent way too many hours trying to make it work onto here.  I could get part of it going but never could complete it to an actual functional blog.

So I went back to the drawing board. I knew I wanted a flexible width, as I don’t like “skinny” blogs.   With this theme I liked how each post was in its own box.  I also don’t like blogs that don’t move. Do you know what I’m talking about? Here’s Lisa’s to show you what I’m talking about. Sorry, Lisa! You’re my friend so I still read your blog. But if your blog doesn’t “move” on the sides, I probably won’t read it!

This is how my blog would look if I left it the way the WordPress theme looks:

I made my own background for the top.  Then I watched a color change tutorial at Web2Whizzing. I love the way he shows you how to find the current colors and then change them to the color you want.

I haven’t worked on the comments section yet and there is some more tweaking I want to do. I have the code to make cool date tabs like you see on Tawna’s Blog. I just need to get in there and make them happen!

After previewing this post, I know I want to make my font a little larger, change my sidebar headings to have the same font as my title, and figure out how to get a “Return Home” link in there.

So what are your pet peeves when it comes to reading blogs? I have a bunch about leaving comments…but I think I’ll save that for a different post!

 

4 Responses to “Blog Changes”

  1. mamabeck Says:

    Biggest pet peeve of mine is when a blog owner leaves out the option to “view older posts” or whatever. If I find a new blog to me, I’d like to read more and ‘get to know’ the owner. If there’s only five entries and I have to jump through hoops to go through their archives, then I’m not likely going to continue reading it at all.

  2. Tawna Says:

    My biggest pet peeve is doing the word verification. BWAHAHAHAHAHA.

    I don’t know that I have one but I’ll pay attention from now on and take note. Then I’ll come back and share.

  3. Mandy Says:

    I like blogs that don’t make me work. I don’t blogs with HUGE headers. You have to scroll to see anything. Scrolling is so 90’s.

    I also don’t like word verification, or comment moderation. But please please please, don’t combine the two. But especially the word verification.

    And please post plenty of pictures. If you have a 100 word post and no pictures….I probably won’t read *blush*.

  4. Kim Says:

    You did an EXCELLENT job with your blog. It looks so nice!!!!
    Praising Him,
    Kim


Leave a Reply

