Coffee with Me

Reading Resolutions January 6, 2010

Filed under: Random,Resolutions — Melissa @ 2:57 pm

Did you make any New Year’s resolutions? Were any of them about reading??? According to She Reads (because you know they’re EXPERTS!) the top 10 most common resolutions are

1. Spend More Time With Friends And Family
2. Exercise
3. Lose Weight
4. Quit Smoking
5. Enjoy Life More
6. Quit Drinking
7. Get Out Of Debt
8. Learn Something New
9. Help Others
10. Get Organized

Before I read She Reads this morning I had already been thinking about how I have a lot of books sitting around the house that I have never finished. Books that intrigue me from the bookstore shelf or books that someone else has sworn is a must-read. I start them … and never finish. I’m really, really bad about that.

I get rid of books constantly (using Paperback Swap) but I do keep ones that I think I might finish or know that I should finish.

I’ve decided that if the book is worthy enough to still be on my shelf, then it’s worthy enough to finish. So one of my resolutions this year is to read and FINISH any book in my house (books that are mine!) that I have not previously finished.

Here’s a sampling from just one bookshelf – right now we won’t talk about how many books are in the house – the small bookshelf near the front door that Roy made for me one year:

The Hidden Art of Homemaking by Edith Schaeffer
Why Do They Dress That Way? by Stephen Scott
This Was Your Life! by Rick Howard and Jamie Lash
The Doctrines That Divide by Erwin Lutzer
For Women Only by Shaunti Feldhahn
On the Other Side of the Garden by Virginia Fugate
Boyhood and Beyond by Bob Schultz
Building a Home Full of Grace by John & Susan Yates
The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis
Face to Face by Kenneth Boa
So Much More by Anna Sofia Botkin and Elizabeth Botkin
Family Driven Faith by Voddie Baucham Jr.
Growing Little Women by Donna J. Miller
Sacred Marriage by Gary Thomas
The Ten -Minute Marriage Principle by Douglas Weiss, PhD
Raising Maidens of Virtue by Stacy McDonald
The Heart of Anger by Lou Priolo
Fifty Reasons Why Jesus Came to Die by John Piper

And then there are the books that Mrs. Susan brought to church last Sunday and let everyone pick from and take home. I got a new series to read and some exciting terrorist-the-world-is-ending type books.

Now to choose which one to start with…which would you pick?

 

5 Responses to “Reading Resolutions”

  1. Tawna Jacobs Says:

    The Hidden Art of Homemaking by Edith Schaeffer
    For Women Only by Shaunti Feldhahn
    Building a Home Full of Grace by John & Susan Yates
    Family Driven Faith by Voddie Baucham Jr.

    I want to read those just based on the titles, lol.

  2. Kelly Says:

    I’d start with Family Driven Faith by Voddie Baucham Jr.
    I think I may blog a similar post…I need to make the same resolution, I haven’t finished a book in years and I’ve started so many this past year. Maybe I’ll make a list tomorrow…thanks for the encouragement!

  3. Misty Says:

    Building A Home Full of Grace =)

    But only because I want to finish it, lol.

  4. […] 20, 2010 Filed under: Random, Resolutions — Melissa @ 5:00 am I recently shared about my Reading Resolution for 2010. I want to report that it’s going well! I will post a review of the first book in […]

  5. Kim Says:

    What a great list of books!!!!! Out of that list I have read:
    For Women Only by Shaunti Feldhahn
    On the Other Side of the Garden by Virginia Fugate
    Boyhood and Beyond by Bob Schultz
    So Much More by Anna Sofia Botkin and Elizabeth Botkin
    Family Driven Faith by Voddie Baucham Jr
    Raising Maidens of Virtue by Stacy McDonald
    The Heart of Anger by Lou Priolo

    There are some there on your list that I want to check out. Thansk for sharing the great list.
    Praising Him,
    Kim


Leave a Reply

