Coffee with Me

Color for Living Room December 17, 2008

Filed under: Home Organization — Melissa @ 3:31 pm

Once upon a time my living room was yellow and blue. So was my kitchen and dining room since it was one big room.

Then we bought a house and the living room was separate and I never really did much in there. We did get a beige couch and 2 navy blue recliners. Otherwise..it took on the color of whatever quilt happened to be on the back of the couch at the time.

In the meantime, we remodeled the kitchen, and I used olive green for the walls and had rose and gold as accent colors. I loved my kitchen! I was making a quilt to hang on the dining room but never did finish it. I had curtains, chair covers, tablecloths, napkins. I had a great time adding things to that room.

Now we’ve moved again and the kitchen, dining room, and living room are once again all one big room.

I’ve had a terrible time deciding what to do! Do I try to blend the rooms together? Do something new altogether? I didn’t have my kitchen colors for very long. But Roy has expressed that he is tired of seeing green. *wink wink*

Here is my chair with the quilt I started working on and the curtains from the old house.

img_2087b

img_2096

Oh I couldn’t decide. I love those colors. I want to keep my chair covers!!! I love those colors with my black wrought iron that I have in the kitchen. And my stainless steel kitchen appliances. Sigh.

But. I have a another quilt that is almost finished. It just needs the binding. And this is what I was going to do in the other living room.

img_2086b

I love the red in this quilt. I would love some gold pillows for the room. Some red curtains maybe. I love red. My bedroom is red and beige. Do I want red and gold and blue in the kitchen too??? With black furniture in the dining room and black wrought iron.

I have 3 windows to cover. And lots of wall. I thought of doing them in a soft gold..with one wall red. Or maybe all beige and one red. or or …. what would you do???

 

4 Responses to “Color for Living Room”

  1. MAry Says:

    Not sure but I can’t wait to see what you decide!

  2. sidstina Says:

    Did you ever decide on the decor? I would love to see them. That first quilt is gorgeous!

    • marineswife Says:

      I didn’t completely except that my husband wants no green! LOL So I’m painting the walls a gold color and going with reds and blues. Melissa

  3. sidstina Says:

    Please post pics when you get it done. Every single wall in our house only has primer on it. The idea of choosing paint colors for every single room is a little overwhelming. I much prefer sitting at the computer and looking at someone else’s paint colors while savoring some Ghiradhelli chocolate.


Leave a Reply

