Coffee with Me

The Great Macaroni and Cheese Challenge November 17, 2008

Filed under: Cooking — Melissa @ 12:08 pm

I was chatting with a friend recently about homemade macaroni and cheese. In the past I’ve not made my own. Not that I can recall. I probably have a few times, but I can’t remember! We love Annie’s in the box. The purple box to be exact, made with butter and yogurt. Yummy!

Anyway, I recently tried a recipe from the Deceptively Delicious cookbook on a recommendation from my sister (Hi Michelle!!). And we loved it! Course I did alter it to suit myself. I don’t like milk, and I especially don’t like skim milk, so I use half and half or heavy creamer. There are a couple other changes too, so now it’s really my own recipe, though the basics of it is the authors.

Anyway, my friend (Hi Amy!!) insisted that her recipe was the best! She said that her sister won’t try it though because her sister (Hi Cheryl!!) insists that HERS is the best. LOL And that is how the Macaroni and Cheese Challenge came to be.

I got 8 other ladies from the HearthKeepers message board to join me. We each posted our own recipe, and are trying each others, and then posting a critique. Each family has their own likes and dislikes and it will be interesting to see which recipes rate highest with which family. Through this I also hope to pick up a couple more recipes that I love…as we do LOVE macaroni and cheese here.

Stay tuned….Recipe #1 coming up. 🙂

 

One Response to “The Great Macaroni and Cheese Challenge”

  1. Sandy Says:

    You would only eat mac and cheese from a box when you were young! Kraft was really the only one out there. Once I went to all the work to make mac and cheese from scratch and you and your sisters did not like it! Too funny!


Leave a Reply

