Coffee with Me

Mac N Cheese #1 November 17, 2008

Filed under: Cooking — Melissa @ 12:21 pm

First up was Amy’s. She’s my best friend and I decided I should get it out of the way. I hoped to like it a lot! She had commented that she usually uses a white cheese so I made sure to pick that up from the deli area as there were no white cheddars in the regular cheese area at our store.

It was simple to make, and if I was in a hurry I could skip the oven part and just eat it straight out of the pan. I liked it with the white cheese. It had a weird residue to me … the feel of the mac and cheese … I didn’t like that part. I think it might have to do with using cornstarch instead of flour. I’m going to give this one a try again using flour instead as I did like the cheese flavor.

The kids liked it while eating it, but with no prompting from me, as they have now rated 3, Samantha said it wasn’t her favorite because she said the cheese stuck to her teeth. Alex though has declared it his favorite so far! Different tastes…. 🙂

Amy’s Macaroni and Cheese

4 T. cornstarch
2 tsp salt
1 tsp dry mustard
1/2 tsp pepper
4 1/2 cups milk
4 T. butter
1 lb. block sharp cheddar, grated
16 oz shells (or other shape pasta) (We like shells)

Cook pasta. While cooking, combine 1st 4 ingredients and stir in milk. Heat over med. heat. Add butter. Bring to boil and boil for 1 minute until thickened.

Remove from heat and add most of cheese. Stir in pasta. Sprinkle with the little remaining cheese.

Bake 375* 25-30 minutes.

The milk heating up.
img_1917b1

My helper grating the cheese.
img_1919b

The final product.
img_1923b

Let me know if you make it and what you think of it! I had to call Amy and give her my thoughts. LOL She said that everyone at her church loves it and she has given out the recipe so many times!

 

One Response to “Mac N Cheese #1”

  1. Gayle Says:

    Hi Melissa, I know you from yahoo groups marine recruiters website.
    We are getting ready for the movers tomorrow and are heading out there to 29 palms.

    Hope we could meet sometime after I settle in!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

