Coffee with Me

Mexican Night! September 20, 2008

Filed under: Cooking — Melissa @ 9:32 pm

I have been spending a lot of time reading food blogs.  I consider it to be a good week if we have tried at least one new recipe, a great week if it’s 2 or 3, and a fantastic week when almost every dish is new to us.

This week…it will be a fantastic week!  I am stocked up with the ingredients for 8 new recipes, along with some frozen pizza…just in case.

Tonight we had Mexican Pork Chops with Mexican Salad thanks to Nancy at A Recipe a Day.

The pork chops were really easy to make – this is just one of those recipes that I have to remember to start SOONER – I had a Rachael Ray phase and still tend to think everything should take 30 minutes.

I heard a lot of yums and oh wows and even my we-refuse-to-let-him-be-picky-4-year-old ate 5 bites without complaining! The recipes are below but first some pictures to entice you to try this yourself!

First I browned each side of 6 chops.

They went into a 9×13 pan and I added the rice.

Then poured on top the tomato sauce, taco seasoning, and water mix. Note: I did not use a packet of taco seasoning mix. I have a huge bottle and I just poured some in. It was just the right spiciness for me, one child said it was a tad spicy but ate it anyway, and Roy probably would have liked it spicier.

And right at this moment I started wondering how you all stored your rice. Back in 1999, I lived next door to a Tupperware lady. They were having a special. Two of these 25-gallon containers for $25. I snatched them up! One holds rice, one holds flour.

Alright. Cover that up with foil – the pan – not the rice bucket! Put in the oven for an hour. Remove, add cheese and green peppers (which I don’t eat!) and cook another 10 minutes.

I made the salad and dressing in the last 15 minutes or so with Samantha helping with the dressing. Note: I used my food processor as I currently have no blender. Oh and we didn’t add chips to the salad as I really am..sort of..trying to lose weight.

The final product. The chops were moist and delicious – easy to cut with a fork. The salad? LOVED. IT. I want to go eat some now. The dressing is delicious!

Mexican Pork Chops

6 pork chops
1 tsp salt
3/4 cup rice, uncooked
1 package taco seasoning mix
8 oz can tomato sauce
1 1/2 cups water
1/2 cup grated monterey jack cheese
1 green pepper, sliced into 6 rings

Preheat oven to 350.

Brown pork chops and arrange in 9×13 pan. Season with salt. Sprinkle rice around chops. Combine taco seasoning, tomato sauce, and water. Pour over chops and rice, cover tightly with foil. Bake for 1 hour.

Remove from oven. Sprinkle with cheese and add a pepper ring to the top of each chop. Recover and bake 10 minutes more.

Mexican Salad

Salad:
1 head lettuce, torn or 1 bag variety lettuce
1/2 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese
1/2 cup chopped green onion
1/2 cup chopped black olives
4 medium tomatoes

Dressing:
1 avocado
1 T lemon juice
1/2 cup sour cream
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1/2 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp garlic salt
1/2 tsp chili powder
1 cup crushed tortilla chips

Combine salad ingredients.

Combine dressing ingredients in blender or food processor until smooth.

Pour dressing over salad and toss to mix well.

Stir in corn chips if so desired.

 

4 Responses to “Mexican Night!”

  1. nancycg56 Says:

    Thank you so much for trying the pork chops and the salad. I could eat that salad every day, LOL! Your pictures are great 🙂

    Love your blog!!!!

  2. Kiersten Says:

    I have to try that salad recipe for SURE! Yum!

  3. Da-Niel Says:

    This looks seriously delicious…tucking it into the back of my mind for an upcoming grocery trip!

  4. Shera Says:

    I just made the dressing to go with regular tossed salad. So delish with extra salt and cheese!! Thanks!!!


Leave a Reply

