Coffee with Me

Coca-Cola Cake September 17, 2008

Filed under: Cooking — Melissa @ 12:24 pm


My mom has been making this cake for as long as I can remember. On her recent visit, she made it with Samantha. And we all devoured it. Yummy! It’s very simple. The cake is moist and the frosting is sugary delightful!


There is not a piece missing from the corner. It’s your imagination.

Okay. Okay. It was me. The cake was sitting on the counter and I just grabbed a spoon and dived in. My mom and daughter got after me before they too admitted to wanting to do the same thing! Just because they didn’t … well… whatever!


Coca-Cola Cake

  • 2 c sugar
  • 2 c flour
  • 1/2 c butter
  • 1/2 c oil
  • 3 T cocoa
  • 1 c Coke
  • 1/2 c buttermilk
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Mix together sugar and flour.

In sauce pan, bring just to a boil the butter, oil, cocoa, and Coke. Pour over dry mixtue and mix.

Add buttermilk, baking soda, eggs, and vanilla. Mix until well moistened.

Bake at 350 in a 9×13 pan for 30 minutes or until cake is finished.


Coca-Cola Frosting

  • 1/2 c butter
  • 3 T cocoa
  • 6 T Coke
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 box powdered sugar
  • 1 c walnuts, chopped

Using saucepan, bring to a boil the butter, cocoa, and Coke. Remove from heat and add vanilla, powdered sugar, and walnuts. Mix well and pour over hot cake.

Let everything cool and serve!


 

3 Responses to “Coca-Cola Cake”

  1. Heidi Says:

    Yummy…I have never had that before it sounds good.

  2. Mary Says:

    Looks yummy!! Love the new site!!!!

  3. Susan Says:

    I am totally going to make this. I saved it to my computer. Looks yummy. Thanks for posting it.

    BTW, I love the blog. Its awesome and know that even if I don’t always leave a message, I love to read it.

    Susan


Leave a Reply

