Coffee with Me

Crispy Chip Chicken – Cooking with Kids! September 2, 2008

Filed under: Cooking — Melissa @ 9:36 pm

My children love to cook!

My children love to have their pictures taken!

My children love to cook AND have their pictures taken at the same time!!! It’s a win-win situation!

They have begged me to start reviewing THEIR recipes to our faithful readers.

I am granting them their wish!

First up is Samantha and Crispy Chip Chicken – usually just called Chippy Chicken. Samantha is 10 years old and wants to be a chef when she grows up. She says this will also enable her to feed her family really good food! She loves to cook and bake and would do it more often if there wasn’t so much clean up involved. Samantha has made Chippy Chicken once before but we did not take pictures then!

This recipe is from Kids in the Kitchen by Pampered Chef.

The recipe says to take the skin off of the chicken. Last time we didn’t do that and it tasted great. This time, Roy was helping her, and he followed the directions. He removed all the skin for her! What a nice guy! It also calls for a broiler chicken, but we use legs. It’s easier that way!

Let’s assemble the ingredients.

4 1/2 cups chili cheese or BBQ flavor corn chips, crushed
1 egg mixed with 1 T. milk
3 – 3 1/2 pounds chicken
2 T butter (optional)

Preheat your oven to 375.

Now rinse and dry the chicken.

Line it up! Dip chicken in egg, then roll around in the chips.

Make sure you fully cover that chicken!!

Set it on the baking tray.

Cook for one hour! And remember, kids, WASH YOUR HANDS when you’re done! And wash with soapy water anything else that touched the raw chicken. Enjoy your chicken. It’s yummy goodness!!

(The recipe says to drizzle 2 T melted butter over the top but Samantha didn’t do that.)

Let me know if you make it and what you think of it!

Next recipe up: Triple Layered Peanut Butter Chocolate Cake

Want a hint??? Take a look at this puppy!

 

3 Responses to “Crispy Chip Chicken – Cooking with Kids!”

  1. Deanne Says:

    Hi Melissa!

    I just found you via someone else’s blog. Hi from Hong Kong!

    Can I just say that the chicken looks super yummy, but that cake looks divine! I am such a peanut butter and chocolate freak.

    Deanne

  2. Sharon Says:

    What does she serve with Chippy Chicken?

  3. Oh yeah… we’ve cooked a variation of this.

    BBQ chips and BUTTER. LOL Too carby now… it could be a celebratory dinner, I guess.

    Roll the chicken in butter, then roll it is smashed BBQ chips. Not corn chips… regular chips. YUM!

    I’ve taken it to fellowship before… I was crowed queen of the day. I should try it again. It’s my version of fried chicken… I can’t make it so I bluff and serve this — it usually is so good they forget they asked for fried chicken like grandma used to make. So far so good… please don’t tell them I can’t made fried chicken.


Leave a Reply

