Coffee with Me

Little Big Families July 15, 2008

Filed under: Family — Melissa @ 11:19 am

I consider our family to be a “Little Big Family.”  Most of you out there would probably just think of us as being of a large family size.  But because we know families with 7..8…9 or more children, I just don’t think of having as 6 children as being that big of a family.

A while back a friend of mine and I started discussing what size family we were really were.  She has 4 children and at the time so did I.  We decided that we were “big little” families.  For most of America, having 4 children is having a large family.  But because our group of friends includes families so much bigger than ours we just could not label ourselves as “large.”  So we became “big little.”  LOL

When I was pregnant with my 5th, she said that I had crossed over.  I could no longer be “big little” but was now officially in the large family size, but not really large.  So we came up with “little big.” 🙂

Every so often I look at my children around the table and think…wow…I have SIX children!  SIX.  I guess that is a lot.  But most of the time, I just see six children, who came one at a time, to add just the right element to our family.  Our “little big” family.  🙂

*Picture taken in March when Leah was 3 weeks old.

 

2 Responses to “Little Big Families”

  1. Michele Says:

    I’m glad you’re blogging. We miss you guys on the east coast. It’ll be nice to keep up with you on the west coast. I’m excited that Kayla is driving and things are going well for you guys. You, and your little big family, deserve it!

  2. Robin Hight Says:

    Melissa, you have such a beautiful family. And 6 kids! I think that is wonderful. I am 1 of 5 and I loved having siblings. You know when they say a woman glows when she is pregnant, when I first saw you and talked with you the other day and am reading more about you, radiance abounds you as a mother. I think that is just fabulous!


Leave a Reply

