Coffee with Me

Pioneer Woman’s Cowboy Nachos September 27, 2008

Filed under: Cooking — Melissa @ 9:15 am

I made these a while back and then forgot to blog about them.  We had them just a couple days after having the brisket…because well, you use the brisket in the recipe!  Everytime I perused Ree’s recipes, the picture of the Cowboy Nachos would catch my attention. I finally decided to try them…but had to try the Brisket first.

So first you need some cooked beans. I didn’t follow Ree’s recipe for this as I make my own all the time and like them and am not messing with what works for me at this time! I cover my beans with water and let them sit overnight.

The next day I drain the water, rinse the beans, and refill the pot with “good” water. Put them on to boil, and once boiling I cover, and turn down to simmer. They sit and simmer for hours. Then I drain. Cook some garlic in olive oil, return the beans, add some broth, do a little mashing. Yummy.

Then I made the Pico de Gallo. Oops. Didn’t have any tomatoes. Roy ran and got me some though..they were added later.

Next was shredding the brisket. The one thing I would have changed was to shred it MORE than I did. It was then re-cooked according to the recipe.

Shred some cheese.

Get out the chips and layer it up! Broil. and yum.

We loved them.  The mix of flavors was great!  I just used a big spoon and scooped out sections from the pan for each pan. Topped with the pico de gallo and sour cream.  The big pan was GONE by the end of dinner!

 

3 Responses to “Pioneer Woman’s Cowboy Nachos”

  1. Robin Says:

    Oh, that looks sooooooo stonkin’ good. Wow.

  2. st8homom Says:

    Oh, Melissa… you’re killin’ me! I’ve always wanted some of those, but never wanted to take all the steps necessary to make them. Yummy!

    When I get to CA, you HAVE to make those for me! ;-)

  3. Misty Says:

    Ok thats it. I’m moving in!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.